Does anyone know the purpose of this addition under my motorhome?

Started by K/C and Pups, August 14, 2017, 04:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

K/C and Pups

This item is attached underneath the rear of my motorhome. I can only assume this was added to my 1987 Holiday Rambler Imperial after purchase , and not from the factory. I cannot see any need for it, unless it is missing some other components. Some of the welds suggest who ever was doing it, could not get comfortable. The steel casters are urethane(?) lined and the crossbar spans between the frame rails. I started to remove it for easier access to do some preventive maintenance, but I have to admit I am new to the RV world, and this must have had a purpose in the past. Hope the pictures show up.
Thanks,
Charlie
The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt. ~Bertrand Russell

Rickf1985

That is there to keep from dragging the rear end on sharp entrances and exits to parking lots and driveways. Usually they are either swivel casters or heavy duty steel rollers that will also slide on asphalt. These motor homes generally have a massive amount of overhang in the rear combined with a long wheelbase front to rear and if you go into a place that suddenly goes up hill the rear end can hit pretty hard. Those do not look like they were welded well enough to take much of a hit. Mine has pretty stout steel loops coming down and one of them has a good tilt to it from hitting during a turn.

K/C and Pups