Refrigerator Replacement Opinions

Started by srosa707, August 05, 2017, 02:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

srosa707

HI all.  A previous owner put a house fridge (no LP) in our D20 and I was wondering if anyone had advice on a good AC/DC/LP fridge that I can put in my rig?  Im new to the RV world but have seen the Norcold as a popular option.  Thoughts?

Froggy1936

My 1977 Mini Wini, Has a Norcold I replaced the cooling unit. Due to a rusted thru pipe in the freezer area .But all the rest is still original and all works ! I have no experience with other brands.  Frank
"The Journey is the REWARD !"
Member of 15 years. We will always remember you, Frank.

Rickf1985

I think Norcold and Dometic are about the only companies out there still making the gas RV fridges. Look for a modern one that uses helium as the gas instead of Hydrogen for safety in case of a catastrophic tube failure. I don't know about the new fridges but the old ones generally lasted 40-50 years if used correctly. Keep in mind that with a gas (absorption) fridge they need to be level (or real close to it) or they will be ruined quite quickly.

WrigleysBraveWin

Perhaps find a good replacement at a Bone Yard or look into a Norcold, which seems to be industry leader. I'm sure a good RV Store will have your solution.
Today is the youngest you'll ever be!

srosa707

So yesterday I hunted for a used refrigerator for my rig but did not find anything local.  Since we have two trips coming up in the next few weeks I bit the bullet and grabbed a Norcold N512.  Pricey, yes, but this Brave is a keeper so it will get plenty of use.  Ill post up pictures when I get it installed.

Rickf1985

You only have the single door fridge freezer? I thought all the class A's had a fridge with separate freezer.

Froggy1936

Current Camping world has one listed for $1200.00.  Frank

Rickf1985