Dodge 413 cam replacement problems

Started by Blakradish, July 20, 2017, 05:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Blakradish

Hey Folks,
I have a 1971 Winnebego Indian running a 413 Rb. I wanted to add a bit of horsepower and low end torque, so I could possibly tow my VW GTI, or a small trailer with a motorcycle. I purchased a CompCams cam kit with Suggested cam, springs, lifters, etc, purchased new pushrods, hei distributor, Edelbrock carb and manifold, plugs, wires, transmission cooler, and gauges for everything.
I'm not a mechanic, so I brought it to one, and he says he can't get the distributor gears to mesh with the camshaft /oilpump gears. He said its almost as if it was running in reverse.
Any feedback would be a great help. I'm totally stuck here.
Thanks

Rickf1985

Your best coarse of action is to call Comp cams. They supplied all of the parts and they would know better than any of us what the problem is. The Dodge distributor should not have a gear on it, the distributor has a flat on the end of the shaft that fits in a notch in the oil pump drive. If the distributor has a gear then it may be a GM distributor. Call Comp.

Blakradish

I've already called comp cams, and they said the cam I ordered was the correct cam for the application I described. They said it's the same cam they use in all of the big block Chrysler engines that want a lot of low end torque.

DaveVA78Chieftain

What distributor did you buy? mfg & P/N
The distributor itself does not have gears on it.  There is a intermediate shaft that is below the distributor that engages the cam and oil pump.  Distributor shaft slides into the gear end
A Marine setup may have reverse gearing.

Video of how it goes together.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ki9-OxgT1Z4
[move][/move]

Rickf1985