Dodge m500 distributor conversion??

Started by Kittykat0505, June 05, 2016, 08:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kittykat0505

Okay..I hope I'm posting this right. .this is my first time owning an rv and my first time posting..I figured why not start out asking the best right?  I have a ton of issues and questions but I read the rules so I'll post the other issues in the right  forum.  Heres my distributor issues. .purchased a 76 dodge apollo m500 with  a 440. When I got it.the guy fired it up..later when I came back to load it up and drive it off. .PROBLEMS!
He stole the batteries, took the rear drive shaft..left a mess. .so I've been trying to figure it out. .purchased 2 batteries. . (Still confused about coach wiring but that's another post). Make a long story short..I know too late.  After much carb adjusting. It fired up for a minute. .now no spark. .so finally to my point..I have figured out the guy had taken out the stock distributor and replaced it with an older points distributor..which has left a lot of wires not hooked up and it looks like the ignition module was in part bypassed..so this is my question. .is it possible for this rv to run properly with this distubutor and does anyone have a diagram on how to correctly wire it up to convert it to the points distributor instead of the electronic distributor which I believe was what was in it originally. I've had a few guys put on their capes and try to help but they just messed things up more and I got 3 different answers. .so this girl is asking the pros. .oh..maybe this will help. .my ignition module has 4 wires not 5. 3 of which are not hooked up to anything! !
Thanks in advance and I hope I've done this right

DaveVA78Chieftain

Ouch!  Well, first off welcome to our site.

Quoteis it possible for this rv to run properly with this distubutor?
Well for someone who knows what they are doing it could be made to run with it however, the original electronic ignition is setup is much better.