To Vapor lock or not to, that is the question....Electric fuel pump?

Started by legomybago, May 02, 2016, 02:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

legomybago

So I took FMC #850 out for a family cruise last weekend over to the in-laws house for a bbq, maybe an 8 mile round trip is all, 75-80 degree Spring day. It was my girlfriend and my daughters first time riding in it (I've been working on 850 in the driveway for the last two years!) They both loved sitting in the front seat looking out at the world. It's a completely different experience driving and riding in an FMC coach then a standard class A motorhome. We stopped at the gas station and I put 25.00 of non-ethanol fuel in it for kicks. Everything was working great, the only issue I was feeling was a mild flat/dead spot on acceleration from a stop, and at times it would not build rpms real fast with the throttle hammered. Like the 440 was a little loaded up?, OR was it running too lean?? (These were thoughts that were running through my head at the time). It could be caused by multiple things, I will dive into that after I fix my vapor lock issue. Anyway, upon leaving the In-laws bbq, after showing off the rig, and getting ohh's and ahh's. We loaded back up. As I was getting in and about to start 850 up, I happily said to Kt, "I'm really feeling good and confident about the old FMC", (After all, I just got done with ALL the mechanical maintenance you can almost do to a motorhome's running gear!!!) So we headed out, got about two miles down the road, then bam! 850 starts obviously starving for fuel, luckily I was able to nurse the throttle through a few lonnngggg stale green stop lights that we got lucky on, and didn't have to stop before turning onto the old back streets of neighborhood that we live in. So as I still nurse the throttle, I see my house is in sight! Going to make it to the driveway! Nope! Died flat on her a$$ one block from the house. I put on the four ways, ran to the back and opened her up (rear