How does the power work in my RV? (1973 D18 brave)

Started by perlgurl, April 06, 2016, 10:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

perlgurl

I bought a 1973 D18 Brave at the end of last summer, sort of on a whim.  The previous owner was using it as a "driveable tent" but has said that all the things worked (propane, stove, fridge, water, etc) except the shower when he bought it, but they never used those amenities and I neglected to ask about how to use them so now I'm fumlbling trying to figure out how to get my RV ready for summer use. 

I'm trying to understand in general how power works for the RV when the RV is parked.  From what I understand the furnace needs power plus propane (I've got a nice thread about getting my furnace working here: http://www.classicwinnebagos.com/forum/index.php/topic,12376.0.html ).

Once I dive into the water heater I imagine it might have a power requirement plus the propane. 

Anyway, I'm totally new to using an RV and don't seem to be fully grasping how the power works when the vehicle motor is off. Also, writing things out seems to help me understand so I might be repeating myself a bit here, but please indulge me:

I understand there are three ways to get power to my RV:
1) shore power (city electricity). 
2) a generator that came with the RV
3) battery power

I plan to be boon-docking most of the time so options 2 and 3 will be the most interest to me eventually, but for testing purposes while I try to understand how to get an appliance working (the furnace for now) that needs electricity I think hooking up to city electricity is the easiest way to get started.

So with that in mind, how to I: 
1) switch to city power
2) test to see if the power is on (plug something into an outlet maybe?)
3) make sure that power is getting to my device that I'm testing (the furnace)