regular or unleaded gas

Started by thelonewolf, September 08, 2015, 12:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

thelonewolf

My. Manual for  my 71 Apollo  says  regular gas. Only. Does that mean  I should u   put  lead additive  in the. Unleaded gasoline.   I no this. Probly a weird question but.  I thought I ask.  :(

Elandan2

The lead additive will help protect your valves and valve seats.  When the switch was made to unleaded gas, the manufacturers began hardening the valve seats and putting in sodium cooled or hardened valves to compensate for the lack of lead in the fuel.  If the engine has been rebuilt, it may have had hardened (stellite) valve seats put in so it can run unleaded gas.  If you don't know if that has been done, the safest thing to do is put in the additive.  Rick
Rick and Tracy Ellerbeck

thelonewolf

Thank you rick. As I am new at this. And  I am thinking I bit off more then I can chew.  But so far. Its been a real  good experience so far alot of cussing  and alot sweat and a few tears. And lots of cash.

ClydesdaleKevin

If I remember correctly, you can also use spacers under the heads to lower the compression ratio, and then run any gas you want without additives...but if you go through the labor of removing the heads anyway, you can have the valves and valve seats replaced with hardened ones while you are at it.

Kev
Kev and Patti, the furry kids, our 1981 Ford F-100 Custom tow vehicle, and our 1995 Itasca Suncruiser Diesel Pusher.

DRMousseau