The "Snowbird" heads North!!

Started by DRMousseau, May 17, 2015, 01:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DRMousseau

The countdown begins!

Never could I imagine being a "Snowbird",... but never could I imagine living full-time in a Classic Winnebago either!!!

I bought this ol' D20 in Northern Michigan late last year, a quick check over,.... and shortly after New Years, I headed south, to the Emerald Coast of Florida! A thousand miles, straight and due south (about 1200+ by route). Actually quite amazed I really made it all that way. Since then, it's been my home, and my everyday driver, to and from work, and all around town too! Yup! Seven miles to the gallon!!! I've been a resident of Florida for 15yrs now, and making the transition into retirement and in regaining my Michigan residency. I work a seasonal job in Florida, preparing tax returns,.. it has supplemented my Social Security, and has paid for all the repairs, restoration, updates, improvements, and general living conditions in the ol' Winnie. But it's been gettin REALLY warm "in the box" lately,... and I'm not equipped with AC!!!

So now it's 10-days, and counting down the time to head north again. Only THIS time,... I'll be continuing the journey several hundred miles BEYOND my destination, of Traverse City, MI. This is where I'll pick up my daughter, son-in-law, and two young grandchildren,.... to adventure with Pops, into the distant wilderness of Michigan's Upper Peninsula,... in a Classic 70's Winnebago!!! Copper Harbor!!! Gold, silver and mine country!!! Pictured Rocks National Forest!!! And some of the MANY waterfalls and lighthouses!!! This is WOLF COUNTRY!!! And I'm quite thrilled to share in the excitement with my family!!! Been nearly 35yrs since I've visited the U.P.!!!