LP Leak at the tank valve

Started by Brianpaul77, May 04, 2015, 09:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brianpaul77

Another topic is turning into a conversation on this problem, so figured I'd post here with info and picture.  While I'm fairly capable and confident of doing a lot of repairs myself, I have zero experience with a RV propane system, and isn't something I really want to guess around about.

So my issue, when I turn the spigot on my LP tank to release propane to the system, it immediately starts leaking from the spigot, you can feel it on your hand as you are turning.  It continues to leak, getting worse as you continue to open it, then finally decreasing as you get it completely open, though it does still leak slightly while fully open, as confirmed by soapy bubbles.

Any insight into this would be appreciated, and sorry if this is a pretty basic fix for most of you.  Ironically, I called the local propane suppliers about my issue and they referred me to the local RV service centers, who in turn referred me back to the propane suppliers.  Nobody wants to touch this thing!

[smg id=7110 type=preview align=center width=400 ]

Oz

Oh boy.  And getting put in the rotating door by the service companies doesn't make it any better. 

First and foremost, you'll need to completely empty the tank.

From your description, you can tell where the leak is coming from exactly, and it sounds like a seal on the valve shaft, which should be able to be replaced.  So, if you remove the entire valve assembly, you should be able to take that to the propane people and get any and all new seals you need  (fingers crossed on that), and you can then replace the valve assembly.

1969 D22, 2 x 1974 D24 Indians, 1977 27' Itasca

gpw9552

OZ put his finger on the problem.  If you don't feel comfortable with doing it, these are the people I use for parts and advice.

Lichtsinn Motors in Forest City, Iowa
(800) 343-6255

Brianpaul77

Quote from: Oz on May 04, 2015, 09:14 PM