Wheels: Split Rims, What are They?

Started by The_Handier_Man1, November 27, 2008, 12:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AScottishSon

Sent: 4/2/2004 11:30 AM

Hi.  I just bought a 72 Brave and would like to put new wheels and tires on it. But you guys talk alot about split rims. What exactly are they? I'm new to rv'ing and alittle clueless.

Thanks,  James

Sent: 4/2/2004 12:31 PM

Technically called two piece wheels. They have a detachable rim piece on one side of the wheel. If on a front axle the detachable circular rim piece is on the out-side of the wheel. It is "split' because there is a gap in the circular piece. After deflating the tire and pushing the tire sidewall in, and away from that detachable section, you can lever the rim piece out of a groove that it locks into, part of the main part of the wheel. Once reassembled and inflated, the force of the tire against the split rim piece keeps it locked into the mating groove. This was the common type of heavy truck wheel for 50 years.
If the detachable rim piece, or the wheel, got damaged, or badly rusted, or if it was assembled without care and vigilance, and was not seated into the locking mating groove; there was the danger of the rim piece being spring off as the tire was being inflated. Injuries and fatalities have resulted, including decapitations.
They can be assembled safely, but are not idiot-proof. A damaged or badly rusted wheel should Not be reused. Some tire repair places don’t have any one trained to do the work, and their insurance may not cover doing split rims. I like the split rims because they are original.